Saxophone Forum

by lillisax
(4 posts)
18 years ago

newbie mom looking for alto sax

I need to purchase a quality student alto sax for my 10 year old who is quite the musician. He has been playing piano for 5 years and the clairnet for two years (first chair). Which sax would keep him happy until high school. I don't want to have to upgrade too soon however he is just ten and has been know to leave his clairnet "laying around" while he waits to perform.

Reply To Post [Report Abuse]

Report Abuse

Replies

1. by CountSpatula
    (602 posts)

18 years ago

Re: newbie mom looking for alto sax

IMO I think the YAS23 is a great horn=] I've used one sense I started playing and I still use it for marching band and I've never had a problem with it yet. Only drawback is its a tad expensive...

Reply To Post AIM

1. by definition
      (963 posts)

18 years ago

I have a Bundy II that I could make a deal for with you, send me an email, the link is at the bottom of the post

Reply To Post Yahoo! AIM

2. by lillisax
      (4 posts)

18 years ago

I asked at the local music store if they ever get any Yas 23's in and they said yes however they sell very quickly for over a $1000.00, way too much, considering that they go for around $500.00 on ebay. I have purchased on ebay several time with great results but a saxophone has too many moving pieces that can easily result in an expense repair bill. I prefer to purchase from an more reliable source.

Reply To Post

2. by Radjammin
    (255 posts)

18 years ago