Saxophone Forum

by saxmanjim
(6 posts)
17 years ago

What difference does a sax neck make?

I' a freshman in high school and I've been playing sax for 6 years. What do good alto sax necks allow you to do and why are some octave openings underslung?

Reply To Post [Report Abuse]

Report Abuse

Replies

1. by Azsax
    (47 posts)

17 years ago

Re: What difference does a sax neck make?

good necks affect the total of your horn. go try as many as possible. many discrimating players do not play on the neck that came with their horn. after the mouthpiece, it is the closest thing that is affected by your air. i've heard of stories of back in the day when players could go to the factory and check out horns. there they would mix and match the best horn with the best neck.

Reply To Post

1. by Sax Mom
      (964 posts)

17 years ago

Most saxophone players use the neck that comes with the horn. If your current neck works, it would be unnecessary to change it. My soprano comes with two necks, but I find it more difficult to play in tune with the curved one. Th underslung octave key (I believe) was primarily to keep it protected.

Reply To Post

1. by The Insomniac Saxman
        (141 posts)

17 years ago