Saxophone Forum

by Crumdom
(1 post)
20 years ago

Alto Sax Beginner

I am looking to buy my son an alto sax. He has never played, so I'm leary to get something really expensive. I'm looking at a Brandnow and an Allan, which I can't find any info on. Does anyone have any recommendations?

Reply To Post [Report Abuse]

Report Abuse

Replies

1. by FutureBandTeacher
    (45 posts)

19 years ago

Re: Alto Sax Beginner

I am a high school freshman. Like most everyone else who replied, I'd rcommend a Yamaha alto sax. I got mine (used only 3 times!!!) off of EBay for $500. Look for a seller with over 90% positive ratings, if possible, and that has been played on rarely, if ever. I don't remember the model name, but my Yamaha alto has been great-- this is my third year of band and the only repair I've ever had on it is to solder on a key guard/replace a keynote screw/replace a couple of right-hand pads.

Reply To Post

2. by Selmer Fan88
    (15 posts)

19 years ago

I really would suggest you a Yamaha, maybe a YAS-275 it's really easy to play for an beginner, but you can play it also after three years. The price of maybe $600 isn't that much expensive,because if you buy a Jupiter or anything like that you'll have to pay the same,but the Yamaha are definitly better,I think.

Reply To Post

3. by johnsonfromwisconsin
    (767 posts)

20 years ago

I don't know much about the Bandnow saxophones other than they are offered for sale by Woodwinds and Brasswinds. On the plus side WWBW offers a return period, on the minus side you may not find out if it's any good during that period due to inexperience. Personally, I'd stick to getting a used Bundy or Yamaha student instrument at a local shop.

Reply To Post

1. by saxgrobie
      (86 posts)

20 years ago

If you haven't been able to find info on either of them, its probably not a very good sign. I'd reccomend Yamaha, Bundy,(like he did) Jupiter, or Selmer. Kelsey

Reply To Post AIM

1. by PIP
        (29 posts)

20 years ago