Saxophone Forum

by jdaddy
(11 posts)
16 years ago

soloing through changes

i have have been practicing soloing through blues scales for a while now i am just getting into soloing through the chords and i was wondering how to learn when to use what scales on different chords. also if anybody has any good jazz songs to learn how to solo on without using blues sacles, thanks a lot.

Reply To Post [Report Abuse]

Report Abuse

Replies

1. by CountSpatula
    (602 posts)

16 years ago

Re: soloing through changes

Find a teacher, easiest way.

Reply To Post AIM

2. by swingstreet
    (315 posts)

16 years ago

With time and practice, and a good ear, you'll know what scales to use when you're soloing. Don't overthink what chords or scales you're going to use, otherwise you'll trip over your own feet, as it were. Just play, practice and listen, then it will come automatically.

Reply To Post

1. by chalazon
      (547 posts)

16 years ago

it's a life long study. Listen to the great players..listen, listen,listen, play with the aebersold books. Miles Davis said "there are no wrong notes"..play everything with right on rhythm..have fun...

Reply To Post

3. by jaaaaackkiieee
    (4 posts)

16 years ago

try heat's on by sammy nestico great piece to solo through changes on

Reply To Post

4. by clamness
    (13 posts)

16 years ago