Saxophone Forum

by Mr T
(2 posts)
16 years ago

Hot glue or shellac

I'm studying woodwind repair fulltime. I prefer shellac when repairing saxophones. I find it easier to work with, it last longer and so on. Now, my teacher say shellac is old facioned and that hot glue is the only thing to use. Not even good hot glue, just the stuff you buy at your local grocery or stationary shop. We don't even have a choice wether to use shellac, we have to use hot glue. When re- padding, we are told to put a piece of cardboard under the pad if it leaks at the back, and then bend the key cup if it leaks elsewhere. I have done some sax repair before, and made sure that the key cup is in parallell line with the tonehole and then "float" the pad if any leaks occure. Of cause using shellac! I would like to hear other repairers view on this matter!

Reply To Post [Report Abuse]

Report Abuse

Replies

1. by gloss1
    (27 posts)

12 years ago

Re: Hot glue or shellac

I use the industrial glue sticks that have a much higher melt point and better adhesion by far. The regular glue sticks are too sensitive to low temp heat and can allow pads to shift. These glue sticks that are on Ebay that are for dent repair are incredible and they come in a variety of colors. Just thought this might be of help to you. Blessings

Reply To Post

2. by historicsaxwhisperer
    (644 posts)

8 years ago

Reply To Post

3. by newreedsyndrome
    (343 posts)

16 years ago

The woodwind repair industry is corrupted. You are correct; you should float the pad using shellac. Bending key cups is a terrible idea, and hot glue will never come out. Don't listen to a word this person says, and maybe you should find a new teacher.

Reply To Post

1. by cstarsoft2000
      (1 post)

5 years ago