Saxophone Forum

by Christian
(2 posts)
16 years ago

finding sheet music

Good morning everyone. I am new to the forum and a new tenor player as well. I would like to know where I should look for sheet music besides the normal sites offering books. I am particularly interested in older music scores- 40-60s, Bebop and Swing. Some titles are; Soulville by Ben Webster, Gene Ammons' When I dream of you, Blues in Maude's Flat, La Rosita, and Easy don't hurt. Maybe someone knows of these or would be willing to point me in the right direction to where i can find them. Although I'm a beginner, I want to actually see my goal in front of me as I progress toward it. Any response would be appreciated. In total I have 20 tunes I want to be my first learned complete pieces. Also, I have them on disc burned and ripped from other cd's If anyone can transcribe them. Like i said, any response back would be welcome, Cheers and Thanks.

Reply To Post [Report Abuse]

Report Abuse

Replies

1. by Tranesyadaddy
    (279 posts)

16 years ago

Re: finding sheet music

have a go at transcribing some of your favorite solos yourself. that's a great way to learn jazz. just ask Charlie Parker. speaking of which, if you like bebop you might consider getting the Charlie Parker Omnibook (there's a Bb version), plus maybe the Jamie Aeberold Parker volume (I think from memory it's vol. 8 ..mine's packed away at the moment)

Reply To Post

1. by Tranesyadaddy
      (279 posts)

16 years ago

vol. 6 according to google..

Reply To Post

1. by Tranesyadaddy
        (279 posts)

16 years ago

some might say Charlie Parker is a bit advanced for a beginner, and they'd be right, but my teacher had me get an Omnibook very early on and I always found Bird's unbridled genius a source of constant inspiration.

Reply To Post

1. by Christian
          (2 posts)

16 years ago