Saxophone Forum

by baridrummer
(8 posts)
15 years ago

Pickup for bari

Hi, After a rehearsal of trying to compete in projection with rock instruments, I've decided I should get a pickup for my bari (the only sax that I've used thus far). I was wondering if any of you had particular recommendations, particularly the best value for your dollar, and something that's pretty evenly receptive to high and low ranges. I've never used a pickup before. Any advice?

Reply To Post [Report Abuse]

Report Abuse

Replies

1. by baridrummer
    (8 posts)

15 years ago

Re: Pickup for bari

Now after reading a bit, I realize that i might not like a clip-on mic anyway (I find a need to noodle around off-mic at a volume for my head). I know a lot of you have posted your recommendations for a mic. Now my question is, have any of you found a particularly good mic to use for a baritone? Or is it worth the investment over whatever the "house mic" is? Many of the mics sound too obnoxious (suddenly loud and distorted) on the low end. When I was investigating a couple years ago, I found some bass drum mics to be pretty good... any thoughts?

Reply To Post

1. by saxxsymbol
      (217 posts)

15 years ago

Re: Pickup for bari