Saxophone Forum

by jamminCB
(6 posts)
15 years ago

***?????COLLEGE AUDITIONS!!!!!******

I am a senior in high school and I recently applied for five music universities. I am majoring in jazz so a plan on using to contrasting jazz tunes in my Auditions. Does anyone know what the judges want to here, or some good, solid tunes to play?

Reply To Post [Report Abuse]

Report Abuse

Replies

1. by Peepin728
    (17 posts)

15 years ago

Re: ***?????COLLEGE AUDITIONS!!!!!******

Well each school may or may not have certain requirements, but if you're simply looking for some contrasting tunes to play here would be a few- Straight up 4/4 swing standards----All The Things You Are, Out of Nowhere, Joy Spring, I've Never Been In Love Before, Bye Bye Blackbird, Four, Confirmation, There Will Never Be Another You, 7 Steps to Heaven Ballads--- Central Park West, Lush Life, My Funny Valentine, The Nearness of You, Peace, My One and Only Love, Too Young to Go Steady, When I Fall In Love Trane tunes...professors love to hear these----Giant Steps, 26-2, Countdown, Moment's Notice, Lazy Bird, Fifth House Latin'ish'---Recorda Me, Invitation, Caravan, A Night in Tunisia, On Green Dolphin Street, Flamingo Now these are just a few off the top of my head, but the best thing would be to listen to your favorite records and pick songs off of them. Also--don't get in the trap of simply playing these tunes as they were originally intended. Who says you can't turn Giant Steps into a slow bossa? What about All the Things You Are in 7? They love to see creativity and originality, so don't feel like you have to be strapped down and forced to play a song a certain way. Have fun and good luck!

Reply To Post

1. by cuber
      (653 posts)

15 years ago

if you wanted something a little different, try take five i wouldnt listen to me though. i dont know jack squat.

Reply To Post

1. by chalazon
        (547 posts)

15 years ago