Saxophone Forum

by bschap
(1 post)
15 years ago

selmer super action 80

anyone have anything to say about the orig super action 80? I've been playing one since about 1984. what's they're reputation? how come no body ever talks about them??

Reply To Post [Report Abuse]

Report Abuse

Replies

1. by so_saxy_it_hurts
    (5 posts)

14 years ago

Re: selmer super action 80

Good horn. They have a good reputation amung people who play them, but there is just so much talk about VI's and the newer models that the Series 1's get looked off. A step up from VII's, but they still tend to have a little boomier of a bottom end than VI's. My alto is a 1982 Super Action 80. Had to have it buffed and then gold plated due to pitting because salt air had attacked its surface a fair amount and that plating stopped the pitting process. It would seem to be in "rough" shape to a prospective buyer, but I don't know if I would want to part ways with it. I love the sound that I get out of it and the action is fantastic.......... also it's got a lot of history for only being just shy of 30 years old (It was in the trunk during a car accident a long time ago and needed some straightening as well........). I have a few alto pieces at my disposal, but the Meyers and Berg Larsen's sound terrible on my horn.... Otto link sounds FANTASTIC. I don't know if other series 1's are that finicky with mouthpieces......

Reply To Post

1. by VintageTenorSound
      (1 post)

14 years ago