Saxophone Forum

by Ruthie
(1 post)
14 years ago

Bari on a budget

Hi, I'm a university student in London, England studying Popular Music with sax as my first instrument. I've been playing for 8 years. So I'm ok. But I haven't had the opportunity to own a huge amount of saxes in the past so I need a bit of help! I've played various baris at school and college but the one at my uni isn't allowed to leave the premises which makes it very hard to do gigs on a bari! I've tried a few out... but I have a very limited budget- really £3000 is the most I should spend. I don't know what that means in $s I have to say my favourite is the P.Mauriat 300UL but it's a bit over my budget. The one I'm realistically looking at is an Elkhart. I own an alto and soprano, both yamahas, and they've served me well as a student and I probably won't upgrade them for a while because they seem to be very well adaptable and at the moment that's perfect for me! So I'm looking for something similar in a bari. Please let me know what you think of Elkhart as I'm unfamiliar with the make but with an otto link mouthpiece I seemed to get a pretty nice, deep sound. Anyway I wanted to know if these makes of saxes are known to be sturdy, reliable and well made. The reviews I've read so far are only about the sound which I can see for myself!! I need something that will stand the test of being carted here and there and experimented with- I need versatile horns as I have to play a wide range of genres on my course. Please take into consideration my limited budget and TINY HANDS! (Vintage saxes are a no go!!!) Thanks for your time. Ruthie

Reply To Post [Report Abuse]

Report Abuse

Replies

1. by Spencer_Bari
    (3 posts)

14 years ago

Re: Bari on a budget

Well, I'm in a similar situation. I haven't heard anything at all about new Elkhart horns; in fact, I didn't even know they existed. Have you looked at the other P. Mauriats? I know that some of the others are cheaper than the 300-UL.

Reply To Post