Saxophone Forum

by Pequegnat
(3 posts)
13 years ago

Selmer Soprano Series III or Yamaha YSS-475II

Hi everyone.. I guess you could say I am a newbie.. in fact I have never played a sax... but it's my 50th coming up.. and I have decided the soprano sax is what I want to play. This will be my first sax... my review on the internet and in speaking with some teachers suggest that the YSS-475II for about $1,800 is a good reliable instrument... (new from a store with guarantee)... I just spoke with another store that has a Selmer soprano series II available marked down to $3,300 as it hasn't moved in 8 months... but there are some negative reviews on the internet regarding keys sticking... does anyone have any suggestions whether the Selmer is worth purchasing at this price differential? thanks pierre

Reply To Post [Report Abuse]

Report Abuse

Replies

1. by Pequegnat
    (3 posts)

13 years ago

Re: Selmer Soprano Series III or Yamaha YSS-475II

Correction.. Series III, not II

Reply To Post

1. by kelsey
      (930 posts)

13 years ago

If I were you I would'nt begin my learning of the saxophone with a soprano sax. They are the hardest of all saxes. (I'd start on alto) Of the two horns mentioned, the Selmer is better but lots more money, and I'm sure you won't be able to tell the difference for a few years. I'd go with the Yamaha. The 475 is a great mid level soprano and will suit your needs well.....Kelsey
      Barry Kelsey

Reply To Post AIM

1. by Pequegnat
        (3 posts)

13 years ago