Saxophone Forum

by nc896
(1 post)
12 years ago

Stripped Lacquer- How it was done?

I am a newbie in saxophone world  but eager to learn. I saw a completely "naked" Mark VI and wondered how it was done. Thanks in advance.

Reply To Post [Report Abuse]

Report Abuse

Replies

1. by MartinMods
    (63 posts)

12 years ago

Re: Stripped Lacquer- How it was done?

I boiled a couple of Mk6 altos in a big pot of water once.  That works.

Reply To Post AIM

2. by cuber
    (653 posts)

12 years ago

There are a couple ways.  The traditional way is to rub it off, which removes some of the metal in the process, which is why relaqured saxophones are typically worth less, and sound different that original laquered sax's.  In the last few years, some people have started using a chemical method, which shouldn't remove metal.  I think Steven Howard mentions something about it on his site somewhere, but I couldn't tell you where.

Reply To Post

3. by gloss1
    (27 posts)

12 years ago

We have a place here that strips antique furniture and more in a dip bath that is heated. I took a wall hanger saxophone and removed all the keys to test it out. Came out very good with the engravings still sharp and clean. Just a thought but definitely stay away for sanding or buffing. Chemical strip is very good.

Reply To Post

1. by saxgourmet
      (127 posts)

12 years ago