Saxophone Forum

by shibaji
(4 posts)
20 years ago

Learning Sax

Dear all I am totally new to sax world and want to learn soprano. Can anyone suggest me how to start? I mean what brand/model I shall buy for learning? Also it will be great if you can you give me a comparison of the 4 kinds of saxes and which one is easier to play. Regards Sib

Reply To Post [Report Abuse]

Report Abuse

Replies

1. by Dabino
    (9 posts)

19 years ago

Re: Learning Sax

Hi shibaji I'm new to this site as well and I was wondering if you new anything about those helmke soorano saxs being sold on ebay?

Reply To Post

2. by sax_maniac
    (984 posts)

20 years ago

I would recommend you NOT start on soprano. It is the hardest to play, though it is smallest of the common SATB. I recommend an alto or tenor to start depending on your age and aspirations. Buy a good used horn to start with - a Yamaha YAS-23, Selmer Bundy II or Conn are good starter horns that can take you quite far on your journey. Avoid eBay horns unless the seller guarantees that it plays top to bottom and offers a refund if you're not happy with it.

Reply To Post

1. by shibaji
      (4 posts)

20 years ago