Saxophone Forum

by Sousasax
(3 posts)
11 years ago

Help! I can't stop biting!

I've been playing the alto sax now for 4 years am doing my jazz grade 8 next year. I was happy with my tone and everything was fine but at Christmas I picked up the sousaphone and I'm doing my grade 6 on that this year so I'm practising a lot. However, ever since I started playing it, my saxophone embouchure has gotten very bad and I am biting with my bottom teeth against the inside of the bottom lip very badly which is hurting and making it hard to play. I really don't want to stop playing the sousaphone and I have heard of a few people that have overcome this biting problem. Any advice as to how to improve my embouchure would be greatfully recieved. Thank you! 

Reply To Post [Report Abuse]

Report Abuse

Replies

1. by GFC
    (842 posts)

11 years ago

Re: Help! I can't stop biting!

For starters, what were you originally taught was the correct lower lip position, over the teeth or in front of the teeth?  The correct position is in front of the teeth.  Some teachers instruct beginning students to place the lip over the teeth (like with a clarinet) because it's the quickest, easiest way to gain control of the reed before the embouchure is developed, but it leads to big problems down the road.  

Reply To Post

1. by Sousasax
      (3 posts)

11 years ago

Ah well that makes sense becasue I had briefly learnt the clarinet before picking up the sax as the school insisted so. But when you say in front of your teeth, you don't mean completely in front with your teeth almost touching the reed do you?

Reply To Post AIM

1. by GFC
        (842 posts)

11 years ago