Saxophone Forum

by buckstein1
(3 posts)
9 years ago

Need help with identification and year

Hi everyone! I am new here. I am not a sax player but I am a music teacher and I look for instruments that I can bring into my classroom so my all my students but especially those headed off to middle school soon, can see hold and play the instruments to see what they might like to try in band. I found an Alto Saxophone in a storage closet at a school I used to work at and they said I could have it. Been in there for years and doesnt play well. Of course I took it, but now I am wondering if it might be worth something and I should keep the kids hands off of it! Here is the info I have... The case says Buescher but I am not sure that is the correct case. It is a silver tone sax with a hint of gold in the bell. Info on the sax is

patd.dec.8.1914
C
P12638

The engraving on the bell just says:
Supertone
Made in USA

I have done a little research and found out info on the patent date and #
The C stands for melody C
The L is for Low
But I haven't found anything about this serial #... P12638

Really trying to see who made it and what year. Any help would be great, thanks! 

Reply To Post [Report Abuse]

Report Abuse

Replies

1. by JonHuff
    (117 posts)

9 years ago

Re: Need help with identification and year

Hello and welcome! The Supertone is actually a stencil made by Conn, at some point it must have just been put in a Buescher case. Unfortunately stencils do not follow the same serial number charts as the parent company, so dating it is only possible by looking at the keywork and comparing, etc. The news on it though as a stencil, AND as a C Melody, it really isn't worth anything. The silver plating is most likely original so it can be polished up to shine like new and can make a good trophy piece, but I wouldn't put any money into restoring it.

Reply To Post

1. by buckstein1
      (3 posts)

9 years ago