Saxophone Forum

by VillageIdiot906
(3 posts)
19 years ago

Buying new Alto Sax... need opinions and reviews.

Ok. I'm buying a new Alto soon, but I can't decide on which one to buy. I've been playing Yamaha 23 for 6 years and have never played another horn, so I don't really know what's better than others. If you can, please rate the following saxes, along with a short review or explanation of why it is better than the other saxophones. 1) Keilwerth SX90R 2) Selmer SA III 3) Yamaha Custom 82Z (lacquer or unlacquered) 4) Yanigisawa A9933 (with sterling silver bell) I play both legit and jazz (a bit more jazz than legit) and I'm just a bit shallow... I like my horns to look good (although for some reason, I don't really like the look of full-silver horns all that much, unless the sound is exceptionally better).

Reply To Post [Report Abuse]

Report Abuse

Replies

1. by definition
    (963 posts)

19 years ago

Re: Buying new Alto Sax... need opinions and reviews.

All four of those are REALLY nice horns, and ou should be happy with any of them. Go to music stores, play-test them alongside each other, and decide for yourself which one you like best, thats the best advice I can give you, since all three of those are top notch horns.

Reply To Post Yahoo! AIM

1. by VillageIdiot906
      (3 posts)

19 years ago

See... that's the thing. I can't playtest them because I'm ordering them from Woodwind and Brasswind (www.wwbw.com) and that's no where near where I live. So, I'm stuck with trusting the opinions of others...

Reply To Post

1. by Firk
        (31 posts)

19 years ago

wwbw will let you try out horns just like they let you try out mouthpieces. they only let you try 3 or 4 at a time. i did it myself and had no problems. call them and ask them about it. ~Firk

Reply To Post

1. by connsaxman_jim
          (2336 posts)

19 years ago