Saxophone Forum

by tyler.adel
(2 posts)
19 years ago

Yanagisawa or Mark VI tenor?

Hi, I am a high school student who is very serious about music and I am looking to purchase a new tenor saxophone. I am currently debating with myself on if i should by the Yanagisawa T9937 with sterling silver plating for $8,815... or just buy a Mark VI tenor. I dont know what to do because I've heard contradicting opinions: some saying there's nothing like the Mark VI, and others that there's no other horn that blows like the Yanagisawa. Any advice would be a great help, thanks.

Reply To Post [Report Abuse]

Report Abuse

Replies

1. by sax_braswell
    (22 posts)

19 years ago

Re: Yanagisawa or Mark VI tenor?

It sounds like you are ready to but the horn that will be with you for a long time. It would be wise to shop around and play test several horns so that you can compare and contrast your likes and dislikes. You may find that neither a Mrk IV or Yani to be to your liking. That being said, I think Yanis are great horns! I chose mine over the new selmers. While I have contemplated buying a Mrk IV I just can't bring myself to pay $4,000 for someone else's 30 year old horn, Mrk IV or not, when I can buy a new one for less. Don't get me wrong I would love to have a Mrk IV! It sounds like cash is not an issue, so broaden your horizons a bit and try as many horns as you can! If you are willing to spend $9k you have a lot of choices! Good luck on your quest!

Reply To Post

2. by connsaxman_jim
    (2336 posts)

19 years ago

Save your money and buy a better car. Chicks dig cars more than shiney saxophones.

Reply To Post Yahoo!

1. by definition
      (963 posts)

19 years ago