Saxophone Forum

by tmbdab
(2 posts)
8 years ago

Giardinelli Eastman Alto Saxophone - GAS10 - Any good?

Hello,

Our daughter has been playing alto saxophone for the past 2.5 years, and is now in 6th grade. I've been playing tenor for a couple decades, so I know something about saxophones, but haven't been on the market for one in a long time.

The saxophone my daughter is playing is a "rent to own" Buffet saxophone from Music & Arts, and she has quickly become pretty good at it.  She's in several bands associated with the school, and made all-county band last year.   Because of this, we've been thinking that we would upgrade her sax to a new one sometime in the next year or so.

Well, without realizing it was coming up, we're now facing a choice.  We've put $1000 into her rental so far, and will pay off the rental sax shortly.  We can either walk away with the rental, or we can apply that same money toward a new horn.  Although the store sells brands I know, the best one they sell that can be purchased with the rental money is this one:

Giardinelli Alto Saxophone by Eastman Standard
$1999
Item # 213445N
Model # GAS10
 http://www.musicarts.com/Giardinelli-Alto-Saxophone-by-Eastman-213445N-i4524863.mac

I don't know anything about Giardinelli or Eastman Standard.  It seems like there's mone than one instrument company that goes by Eastman, so that makes it a little trickier to research online.  This particular model (GAS10) appears to be a model # associated with the version sold by Music & Arts, and I'm guessing the same sax might go under a different name and/or model number elsewhere.  

So, our choices are:
1) We walk away with the rental horn, and start saving for a well-known brand name horn (e.g., Selmer, Yamaha).
2) We pick up the Giardinelli horn by plunking down another $1000.