Saxophone Forum

by barisaxalpha
(9 posts)
8 years ago

The Buescher 157 Aristocrat

Since I got my '68 "400" bari sax some 13 years ago, I've been a big fan of the Buescher saxes. I love the way they play. They're reasonably comfortable in my big hands (I'm not a fan of Selmer-style keywork). And I love watching all of the design variations as different Bueschers cross my repair bench. I've got a 300XXX Big B alto and a 361XXX post-TH&C "400" alto. Of the two, I much prefer the "400." For years, I've been looking for a tenor to match. Of course, it had to be the right price and since I'm not a pro player, I have a hard time justifying to myself putting down the cash on a TH&C that could otherwise be in much more skilled hands. 

Right about a year ago, I got a call from a friend saying that he'd acquired a 157 Aristocrat Tenor (358XXX) in original Satin-Silver Plate with Goldwash bell. From all of the pics I've seen and horns I've compared, I concluded that the 141/157 are very nearly the same type of instruments as the post-TH&C "400s." (I'm still working on gathering measurements from various instruments, so I can't say that they ARE the same. But they're definitely very similar.)

The horn in question had previously belonged to a church in south Alabama and had some bell and body damage, a nearly worn-through strap ring, as well as a badly split neck. The price was right and I like a challenge, so I got the horn from my friend as well as an old "400" neck and the teardrop strap ring from a junker horn.