Saxophone Forum

by Jellybean666
(31 posts)
19 years ago

Jazz inprov etc

Hi, i started playing the alto sax about 2 months ago, i already play the flute, piano and guitar, so reading music isnt a prob, and the fingering is about the same as the flute, so i've picked it up quite quickly, but im quite interested in jazz and swing, but i'm really rubbish at improv! Seriously, its awful, anyone got any tips how i could teach myself? Oh yea, and i've only ever been taught to play sheet music, so ive no idea how to even start playing by ear or even trying to remember pieces i've got the music to so i can play it off by heart. Is there anyone who can help? I dont like only being able to play from sheet music, it limits what i can play, does anyone else agree with me on that? Oh yea, and while im at it, i might as well say, this whole thing about getting grade 5 theory before taking a grade 6 practical music exam really is rubbish! Anyone agree???

Reply To Post [Report Abuse]

Report Abuse

Replies

1. by kneejerk52
    (397 posts)

19 years ago

Re: Jazz inprov etc

listen and play along

Reply To Post

1. by Jellybean666
      (31 posts)

19 years ago

oh very clever, lol, i meant useful advice!

Reply To Post

2. by kneejerk52
    (397 posts)

19 years ago

listen and play along

Reply To Post

1. by Hexaclon
      (90 posts)

19 years ago

I have to agree with kneejerk52. I started out trying to improvise turnin' on the radio and playing along. Find the notes that "sound good", then do diferent rythms with those notes. And most importan you have too listen alot of mudic. NOT HEAR MUSIC, LISTEN TO IT.

Reply To Post AIM

1. by definition
        (963 posts)

19 years ago