Saxophone Forum

by RonyG
(4 posts)
19 years ago

Anyone played one of these xaphoon's

Just curious, I came across this site, www.xaphoon.com And was wondering if anyone every played one of these? If you have a DLS connection the video of how he makes them is pretty neat. He says they sound like a sax, but to me it sounds like more of a clarinet. If anyone is interested, they are on eBay for around $45-$50.00

Reply To Post [Report Abuse]

Report Abuse

Replies

1. by Mark6Bari
    (2 posts)

19 years ago

Re: Anyone played one of these xaphoon's

I bought one from Lark in the Morning and really wanted to like it. Unfortunately, it's a bitch to play. Takes an awful lot of wind to get anything worthwhile out of it. (And I've been playing a Selmer Mark VI Bari for over 20 years.) I've tried everything from my standard Rico 3 down to a Rico 1-1/2 and still can't get a great sound from it. That, and the fingering, while pretty straightforward and recorder-esque, is really awkward. I have fairly large hands and the span between some of the keys is just painful for long periods. They do have a new plastic (bakelite?) version out that's supposed to take care of the inconsistencies in the mouthpiece region and make for a more universal fingering. Maybe this version will have had the kinks worked out. All in all, I made a much better buy with my $125 Native American flute made by Kai Mayberger from Vermont. Now that's a sweet sound.

Reply To Post

2. by tenor562
    (297 posts)

19 years ago

I've never played one, but I did see one in an instrument museum at my summer music camp. It was one of the real, xaphoons, the ones that go for 300 dollars. The man in charge of the museum played it, and it did have a sax like sound, but was more difficult to play, according to him. It sounded more like a sax in my opinion.

Reply To Post

1. by connsaxman_jim
      (2336 posts)

19 years ago