Saxophone Forum

by mrd
(137 posts)
19 years ago

NEED HELP ON CHOICE OF TENOR MOUTHPIECE

CAN ANYONE GIVE ME SOME QUICK ADVICE RIGHT AWAY?? THANKS GUYS. I am just starting out again after many years, and need to know what advice you guys can give me on some mouthpieces. When I played, MANY YEARS AGO, I seem to remember using a 2.5, or 3 reed, but even that I am not sure, as it might have been 3.5. I had of course, my teacher who had advised me at the time, but I don't remember what mouthpiece, although it was metal or opening I had. Here are some choices I have seen: 1) PETER PONZOL II-V-I Metal 2) Berg Larsen stainless steel Tip opening=100 (medium close). Chamber=1 (bright) Baffle=SMS 3) Vintage Selmer C Star Versatile 4) Ackerman Florida Blank Babbitt link #7 5)Selmer Metal Jazz Mouthpiece, 'G' 6)Ponzol Metal Mouthpiece Super 105

Reply To Post [Report Abuse]

Report Abuse

Replies

1. by FreeBlowing-JazzSaxGuy
    (3 posts)

19 years ago

Re: NEED HELP ON CHOICE OF TENOR MOUTHPIECE

The Berg Larsen stainless steel is a great one. I have played it for five years. The 100 is a fairly closed tip opening, so you might "grow" out of it when you build you chops back up. The 1 chamber is good for great jazz style, and your 2 and 3 are what you typical big band players would play in the 40s. I personally do not like the selmer jazz metal, nor either of the Ponzols. I have not played the Selmer C Star, nor have I heard of the Ackerman Florida Bank Babbit Link #7. JazzSax

Reply To Post

1. by someguy
      (80 posts)

19 years ago

on this web sight there have been posts that love otto links for tenor. I will know myself in a day, I just got a link 7 metal Super tone master with vandoren zz 2.5 reeds. Good luck.

Reply To Post

2. by mrd
      (137 posts)

19 years ago

Thank you all for your advice. Another question then.. Suppose I buy a Berg Larsen. What number reed would be most suited after all these years. 2; 2.5; 3; etc. Would help a great deal as well.