Saxophone Forum

by karebear1012
(395 posts)
19 years ago

Auditons

this might sound like a stupid question... before auditions i'm totally calm and relaxed thinking "oh, i know the music, i'm going to do fine." , but then when i actually get in front of the judge, i get really shaky and nervous. It really affects my playing, and I've tried doing more auditions and solos to get myself used to playing in front of others, but it just doesn't seem to help. What should I do? What do you do? Thanks, Kara

Reply To Post [Report Abuse]

Report Abuse

Replies

1. by connsaxman_jim
    (2336 posts)

19 years ago

Re: Auditons

Kara, in college I have an oral communications class right now. I've been playing saxophone for over 20 years, but when I get up in front of my class to give a speech, I get very nervous! Even when I'm doing a speech on saxophones! My instructer said that in order to overcome nervousness you need to build confidence, which you do by practicing until you are comfortable with your parts. Then visualize yourself playing your part perfectly. I know, this is easier said than done, but if you tell yourself that you CAN do it you WILL do it! Good luck! Jim

Reply To Post Yahoo!

1. by karebear1012
      (395 posts)

19 years ago