Saxophone Forum

by mikeand
(2 posts)
19 years ago

Sax help

I'm just starting out on the sax. I've been reading the posts here and they are very helpful. I know that at 47 I can still learn and enjoy. You have also convinced me not to go the cheap chinese ebay sax route. I have decided to rent locally and my choices are a new Selmer AS500 or King 665 or a used AS300. The price delta is not that big so I am inclined to go new. What are the differences between the 500 and the 300? It is my understanding that the 300 is made in the US and the 500 in Taiwan. Does that matter? Since I may eventually own whatever I rent which is the best choice and why? I appreciate any and all help and advice that you may have to offer. Thanks!!

Reply To Post [Report Abuse]

Report Abuse

Replies

1. by FredCDobbs
    (77 posts)

19 years ago

Re: Sax help

Mikeand: My advice, which will be similar to others' on this forum, is to buy a sound vintage horn. For what you'll end up paying for a new intermediate instrument (either as a purchase or a rent-to-own), you can buy an older Conn, Buecher, or Martin, to name a few, have a pro-horn, and not lose any money should you decide to sell it in the future. There are many reliable online dealerships (Saxquest included) that will sell you a gorgeous, completely reliable vintage horn for a reasonalbe price. You can also check ebay, but do plenty of homework first, and count on adding about $350 for repad work and regulation. I'm 54, been playing for 3 years, and love it. Go for it, and best of luck.

Reply To Post

1. by connsaxman_jim
      (2336 posts)

19 years ago