Saxophone Forum

by saxy1
(6 posts)
19 years ago

altissimo G

First off, I'd just like to say hi as a new body on the board. I'm a long haul trucker from waaaay up in the frozen wasteland, and used to be a regular semi-professional player in my dark past. My oldest daughter has recently taken up the tenor sax at school, and I have begun to renew my love affair with my horn. I have a Selmer Mark VII, and in spite of all the unflattering commentary floating around with regards to the poor performance of this horn, I have never been disappointed with it. I have played many Mark VI's and although I find the action on the Bb spatula to be a bit more fluid, I have never found my own horn to be either unwieldy or inferior to the VI. Anyhow, the topic which I posted on is for the altissimo register. My daughter is playing a Yamaha YTS 21, which I realize is a student horn. When she first brought it home, I checked it out and although it played well through the majority of notes, I could not get it to play a high G. I have tried and tried, and have no trouble hitting A through D. Even with my Dukoff D chamber, I was unable to hit it. Is it a fault of student horns to have this deficiency on the G? Or is it just me? By the way, I have no trouble hitting it on my own tenor, and I am just curious as to whether anyone has any advice. I checked the key cup/pad and it doesn't appear to be leaking.

Reply To Post [Report Abuse]

Report Abuse

Replies

1. by saxy1
    (6 posts)

19 years ago

Re: altissimo G

Sorry if I misled anyone with the model of my daughter's Yamaha. It's a YTS 23, not a 21. Don't know as it makes that big a difference. The 23s are supposed to have adjustable thumb rests but this one doesn't.

Reply To Post

1. by Sax Mom
      (964 posts)

19 years ago

By altissimo, do you mean the G that sits on top of the staff, or the one that is on the 4th line above the staff?

Reply To Post

1. by connsaxman_jim
        (2336 posts)

19 years ago