Saxophone Forum

by Chiquita
(3 posts)
9 years ago

Victory vs. Schill

Ok- I know you guys are going to go crazy over this because these two brands are both not that great. But I still need to compare them. I'm a college student with extremely limited funds, and I'm looking to buy a tenor. I've played for years, but I've never owned my own tenor- so which is better between a Victory and a Schill. Or do you have any other suggestions for a sax I can get for a few hundred dollars? Thanks for any help!

Reply To Post [Report Abuse]

Report Abuse

Replies

1. by connsaxman_jim
    (2336 posts)

9 years ago

Re: Victory vs. Schill

Don't waste your money on either one. They're toys, not real horns. Just shop around for a nice used sax. There's a few out there. save some money. Don't buy something that you're going to end up throwing away in a year or 2 because its broken and no tech with fix it. Just look around for a Conn 16M or a later Buescher 400 or a Bundy, something you can buy pretty cheap. check your local pawn shops and second hand thrift stores and stuff.

Reply To Post Yahoo!

1. by saxismyaxe
      (574 posts)

9 years ago

Another source for vintage saxophones at cheap prices is www.shopgoodwill.com. They have had a number of good horns for auction lately, going for bargain basement prices. Keep a watch on this site, as new listings turn up there on a daily basis.

Reply To Post

1. by phathorn
        (165 posts)

9 years ago

the early model Signets are nice too. They are basically a hodgepodge of buescher 200 and 400 parts and for many years, was selmer's offering below the vaunted MkVI

Reply To Post

1. by Alreed66
          (8 posts)

6 years ago