Saxophone Forum

by cyote23
(2 posts)
7 years ago

Squeaking middle notes (on the Tenor)

First of all, I am generally sorry that about the fourm thing, I am new to this website, and I wasn't for sure which thing to put it under, so I just went with this. I play the Tenor saxophone, and I am having some issues with it. I've been playing for nearly two years, at this point, and I have finally switched to a new instrument that is not ranked as a "bgeninner" instrument. I have gotten a professional saxophone, which is causing some new issues for me. Everything sounds fine, but the middle notes will randomly squak, and-to my knowledge-I do not think I am doing anything wrong with my embrouchure (I've played for a while). Are new instrumens just like this, or is there something wrong with me or the instrument? It's been a while since I started playing,s o I've forgotten what it's like to play with a new saxophone. Whenever I try to play an F, E, or D the note will sometimes come out really well, and at other times, it will make a somewhat squeaky noise. Whenever that does happen, it literally feels like the note won't play normally as I hold it out. I think this could be an issue with the keys, but I wouldn't know. I only got the instrument a couple of days ago, so I could jsut be overreacting to the change of functionality with it, but I am concerned. My Christmas concert is in a little over three weeks, along with the Jazz Band concert, so I am kind of freaking out about if I will be able to fix this issue by that time. I'm playing using a vandoren optimum mouthpiece and a yahmaha ligature, so I don't think those things are the issue. I am sorry about the length of this post, once again, I am inexperienced with this website, and I can never write something that is short. Can you please tell me how to fix this issue or give me tips on it if you've made it this far?