Saxophone Forum

by youpa938
(2 posts)
19 years ago

Giving the sax a bath

I was talking to a player at a bar the other night, and he told me that before each gig he fills the bath with warm water and gives his sax a quick dunking. I've never heard of anyone doing this, has anyone tried this or knows someone who has? The guy reckoned it made the sax play a lot nicer, easier down the bottom end and with a nicer tone. I thought it would be seriously bad for the pads to immerse them in water but he said he's been doing it for about 5 years and hasn't had any issues. I'd like to know some other people's thoughts on this matter!

Reply To Post [Report Abuse]

Report Abuse

Replies

1. by kneejerk52
    (397 posts)

19 years ago

Re: Giving the sax a bath

doesn't sound like a good idea, im not an expert but i was to understand you would like to keep the pads as dry as possible. maybe his horn has lots of leaks and wetting them swells the pads to creat a better seal? can't think of a good reason to do this.

Reply To Post

1. by sax_maniac
      (984 posts)

19 years ago

I'm with KJ. He was either pulling your leg or he has pad leak issues. Wetting the pads will certainly make the pads swell - making up for some action adjustments that need to be made. Hopefully he air dries his horn at the end of each gig or his case is a massive Petri dish.

Reply To Post

1. by connsaxman_jim
        (2336 posts)

19 years ago

No kidding! DON'T GIVE YOUR SAX A BATH!!! Water does not do leather any favors, and you will ruin your pads in short order! Jim

Reply To Post Yahoo!

1. by definition
          (963 posts)

19 years ago

Aye, I have bathed my saxes before, but only after the keys have been removed, which is more trouble than its worth for a gig.

Reply To Post Yahoo! AIM

2. by EdTheGreat
        (11 posts)

19 years ago

hmm I think the guy might have had to much to drink that night....

Reply To Post

1. by connsaxman_jim
          (2336 posts)

19 years ago