Saxophone Forum

by hawkman112757
(7 posts)
19 years ago

new mouthpeice

any one out ther have a suggestion on what the best mouthpeice for a tenor sax would be ,for help in the low register on the lowbflat,lowb, low c#, currently playing a stueben tenor with a brillhart metal#5 high register is great but cant get the very low register notes to come in with ease, been playing ,and taking lessons for two years , so im pretty sure its not the embucher. thanks ! hawkman112757

Reply To Post [Report Abuse]

Report Abuse

Replies

1. by saxyjeff
    (25 posts)

19 years ago

Re: new mouthpeice

I started playing again 7 years ago and still getting lessons. Over the years my embrochure and chops have changed. I started out with a vintage silverite dukoff matched to a cannonball tenor. Played well for me then. When I bought my first VI tenor I sold the CB to my friend, along with the piece, and tried several pieces finally choosing a vintage rubber Strathon Adjustatone. The adjustatone is now called a Zinner and you can buy them at WW&BW. Whats cool is that they have an adjustable baffle. Richard Elliot plays with one (the oldvintage strathon) and you can see them in pics. The Zinner is a newer plastic or rubber compound not like the old ones. The adjustable baffle allows you to use the same piece for classical, jazz, and in the high Brite posiition funk/rock/R&B. Last year I started looking again only because the old Strathons are hard to come by and I like to try them out first. Paul, my mentor, had several of the new metal Claude Lakeys (outstanding!!!) and I played several of them. I then tried Olegs new goldplated piece and.....they were so close in sound man. The Lakeys are around $150 and the Oleg cost me $375. I think the real reasons the Oleg over the Lakey was: 1) I had a few extra bucks 2) I also was using Olegs new neck. I wanted to work with Oleg's system for awhile. For me the Lakey was so close that my personal bias towards being all Oleg probably steered m