Saxophone Forum

by Sweetaltostuff
(4 posts)
19 years ago

Teaching sax...

I've been teaching sax players (as a HS student) for 3 years now. I'd like to improve my teaching, though. I know enough about theory to stay on top of anyone I teach it to, and I know some about teaching intonation, pitch, sound quality, breathing, and the like, but any methods, specific or broad, would be appreciated. I would specifically appreciate good ways of encouraging practice, positive attitude toward playing, and focus during playing, but any small ideas or methods are helpful. Thanks.

Reply To Post [Report Abuse]

Report Abuse

Replies

1. by KingNecron
    (76 posts)

19 years ago

Re: Teaching sax...

Hey, man. I taught lessons to two kids last summer (middle and high school students, brother and sister, respectively). The brother would never practice, so we pretty much played out of his book for school and I would harmonize and jam for him, just trying to at least inspire him to play the saxophone. The sister plays bassoon and just wanted help on alto for her school's jazz band, and she was much better about practicing. Unfortunately, it's hard to get people to practice--even I don't practice as much as I like. My only suggestion would be to have them play fun music, and just have a lesson every now and then where you just take it easy and just jam. But I'm no professional sax teacher by any stretch of the imagination, so I'm equally interested in some of the responses you get to this post. Also, keeping up on theory is great--you have to know the basics to teach the basics. Take it easy, and good luck with your students.

Reply To Post AIM

1. by knorter
      (205 posts)

19 years ago