Saxophone Forum

by Saxdragon
(22 posts)
19 years ago

Re-facing a mouthpiece...should i?

I've been playing a Dukoff metal #6 for about 20 years now. I liked it when i first got it, but over the last few years, it seems to me it's causing my problems...like making low notes difficult, and altissimo as well. Should I send it to somebody to recondition it? What do they do to it? How much would it cost? Can somebody recommend a good technician to do this? Thanks

Reply To Post [Report Abuse]

Report Abuse

Replies

1. by saxmannwmsu
    (48 posts)

19 years ago

Re: Re-facing a mouthpiece...should i?

After a while, all mouthpieces wear out. It's just the natural process. Refacing is simply the process of adding or taking material away at specific points ong the mouthpiece. There's lots of places that will reface your piece. You can Google "mouthpiece refacing" and find a few places. The one I'd reccommend is www.mouthpieceheaven.com. Theo Wanne seems to do quite a bit of good work. His prices are only slithly higher than others I've seen. For a basic reface on a metal piece, you're looking at around $125 I think. It's not bad considering you'd probably be paying that much for another mouthpiece anyway.

Reply To Post AIM

1. by Saxon
      (100 posts)

19 years ago

I have a similar problem, well actually not very similar! I being a novice bought a new Selmer B 1 to replace my Yamaha 5 C. The Yammy is better! I think the b 1 has too small a tip opening, I should have got a C2 but now I'm stuck in China with a dud pce. Should I attempt to file the tip?

Reply To Post

1. by chiamac
        (586 posts)

19 years ago