watz the BEST ligature for alto sax, in smooth jazz or jazz playing? thx

Reply To Post [Report Abuse]

Report Abuse

Replies

1. by joe812119
    (18 posts)

19 years ago

Re: ligature

ive been playing jazz sax for 22 years, and i can tell you a student lig is just fine. dont waste your money.

Reply To Post

1. by phathorn
      (165 posts)

19 years ago

I disagree, I've found better response from reeds with a good ligature set up...

Reply To Post

2. by connsaxman_jim
    (2336 posts)

19 years ago

probably an Oleg, or an Ultimate. Both are really good. The Rovner Eddie Daniels or Evo 5's are pretty good too. I use Rovners and I really like them. They're a little cheaper.

Reply To Post Yahoo!

1. by mattdude
      (74 posts)

19 years ago

the ligature should be the least of your worries.

Reply To Post

1. by connsaxman_jim
        (2336 posts)

19 years ago

Well, if you're playing an inexpensive Chinese or student model horn, then I agree, the ligature is the least of your worries. But, I am assuming that you have been playing a while, have a good horn, and mouthpiece set-up. If not, that should be your first step.

Reply To Post Yahoo!

1. by SaxMan88
          (318 posts)

19 years ago