Saxophone Forum

by gottydot
(41 posts)
19 years ago

Mouthpiece set up on a Conn

I've been playing a Conn shooting star for about a year now. I recently got a Meyer 5 mouthpiece from my band teacher, and I usually use 2 1/2 Rico Royal reeds, but I've recently tried a 2 1/2 Vandoreon French cut reed. Do you have any sudegestions on a different mouthpiece set up or reeds i should try? I was also thinking of getting my sax stripped so that it has no finish, or laquear. What do you people think?

Reply To Post [Report Abuse]

Report Abuse

Replies

1. by gottydot
    (41 posts)

19 years ago

Re: Mouthpiece set up on a Conn

anyone? I guess you could say I've just started, since ive been playing alto for 2 years, but I feel like i've been playing forever, and i want to make some changes in my sound.

Reply To Post

2. by jamterry
    (573 posts)

19 years ago

A shooting star is a good horn. Don't strip it; it is fine the way it is. Stay away from Rico reeds, as they have a tinny sound. I use a Vandoren 2 1/2 traditional cut or a La Voz Medium. La Voz has good quality control, but I do not think Vandoren does. A good Vandoren is a great reed, but a bad Vandoren is junk. Try the LaVoz medium for a while. I use a Meyer 5 on my alto along with a Meyer metal 6, and a Selmer C* for legit stuff. The Selmer C* sounds good on a shooting star. Can you pick your reeds at the store? If so, I can tell you what to look for. Don't mess with the lacquer on your horn!!!! Best of luck to you :)

Reply To Post Yahoo! AIM ICQ

1. by gottydot
      (41 posts)

19 years ago

Well, theres a music store near by that was Rico Royal reeds, Vandoren french cut (i hope im saying that right)_ and java. Theres a bigger store in the city that ive never been t, but i could check it out if you give me a few reeds to look for. as for the laquer, should i get it re-finished then? because the laquer is worn off in a lot of places.

Reply To Post

1. by jamterry
        (573 posts)

19 years ago