Saxophone Forum

by cammes
(16 posts)
19 years ago

Bigger Jazz Sound

Hi i'm new to this site I'm 16 years old, i have been playing for 7 years. I have been first alto in my band since grade 10 and my condctor keeps telling me to play louder but I can't seem to make a bigger sound. So I was just wondering if anyone could help me produce a bigger sound in both jazz and classical.

Reply To Post [Report Abuse]

Report Abuse

Replies

1. by saxophones_rock
    (13 posts)

19 years ago

Re: Bigger Jazz Sound

I know (almost) exactly how you feel. Except, well.. my situation is just the opposite. My conductor says that i have a fairly good air flow, but i play too loud. He is always reminding me to take less mouthpiece so i dont clash with others. In your case, you may be taking too little mouthpiece, which can create a quieter, puny sound that doesnt amount to much. For what it is worth, try taking more mouthpiece. Who knows, it may help. Hope i could be of some help to you. Good luck!!

Reply To Post

2. by jazzyjedi
    (13 posts)

19 years ago

Well, let me see. What is your mouthpiece and reed set up. Sometimes, a certain reed or mouthpiece can make all the difference in the world. I use LaVoz medium hard reeds. They give me the resistance I need and force me to use the correct amount of air.

Reply To Post

1. by golferguy675
      (600 posts)

19 years ago

Reeds usually dont have near as much influence on volume as the mouthpiece size. You aren't using the C* are you? A lot of highschool players do. If you have a jazz mouthpiece, try at least a 6* if you're playing lead. Also, practice your long tones for about 5 minutes every time you practice. Try and play them with the steadiest air stream possible. It sounds boring and stupid, but it works. Also, how do you blow your airstream? Try thinking about exhaling more than blowing. Hot air, not cold air.

Reply To Post

1. by jazzyjedi
        (13 posts)

19 years ago