Saxophone Forum

by Barisaxy
(2 posts)
19 years ago

1 Barisaxy Lady

Hello. My name is Nancy J and have been a barisax player since 6th grade which is about 20 years. Wow, I didn't realize it was so long! I majored on Bari Sax at West Chester University in PA and graduated with a BS in Music Ed. I am the bari sax player with the Macungie Commnity Band in Macungie, PA and the Municipal Band of Allentown. I even marched Drum Corps as a contra bass player but we won't go there! I have played since 1990 a Conn Bari Sax with a Low A. Last August I even got a Tattoo of my bari on my left calf. Unfortunately, as of lateI have been playing extremely sharp. It probably is from lack of practice or the fact that I play so many other instruments at school. I use a Selmer C* mouthpiece. I even have to pull out the neck, I am so sharp (terrible I know but otherwise I don't come even near to in tune.) Any suggestions on other mouthpieces or tips would be greatly appreciated. I would love to hear from any other die-hard bari players just to chat on how wonderful the bari is or other bari related issues.

Reply To Post [Report Abuse]

Report Abuse

Replies

1. by saxismyaxe
    (575 posts)

19 years ago

Re: 1 Barisaxy Lady

Hi Nancy J., Welcome to the forum. Your vast experience in Music and Saxophone studies will be very much appreciated here. There are a lot of neophytes and youngsters posting here who need someone to help them along and answer questions. Although you have a few questions of your own, you will doubtless provide answers to many others. Cheers.

Reply To Post

2. by Sax Mom
    (964 posts)

19 years ago