Saxophone Forum

by Gooshbanshee
(24 posts)
19 years ago

MY LIP JUST FELL OFF!!!

hey, I usually get between three hour and five hours off practice every day (combined with my school studies) and then on weekends Im looking at around three to four hours each day. What im getting at is practicing so much makes it alot harder to practice more because my lip herts like alot more than hell. Ive tried using paper between the teeth and lip but I find it harder to form a proper embochure and toungue. im just asking if anyone has any tips or tricks or if you just have a simalar delema Thanks, Troy

Reply To Post [Report Abuse]

Report Abuse

Replies

1. by kelsey
    (930 posts)

18 years ago

Re: MY LIP JUST FELL OFF!!!

All work and no play makes Jack a dull boy! You are practiceing more than me and I play sax for a living. John Coltrane practiced all day and played gigs all night. Your kind of dedication deserves a pat on the back. But I would suggest that you get a life.........Kelsey
    Barry Kelsey

Reply To Post AIM

2. by jazzdude482
    (38 posts)

19 years ago

i know how u feel. I once kept playing until my lips was soo close to bleeding, but its probably your embochure, and the tendency to bite too hard on the high notes too. So right now Im trying out this new embochure and it seems to be working fine and i could get out the low notes easier but the advice i can give is not to bite too hard when playing.But if anyone else has any more hints i would also appreciate it

Reply To Post

3. by kneejerk52
    (397 posts)

19 years ago

if your horn is properly set up and has NO leaks! it will not be hard to make almost any sound yu want. have your horn checked at a tech, even if it's new it could still need attention. it really shoud not be that hard. and yes trying loosening up a bit, relax man if your tight it makes anything harder to do. also learn to breath properly and life will also be eaiser.

Reply To Post

1. by Sax Mom
      (964 posts)

19 years ago