Saxophone Forum

by squibcake
(4 posts)
18 years ago

cleaning pads

I'm a first-time poster here on this forum, so I just thought I'd say hello. I've been playing saxophones for about 14 years, only becoming really serious about it over the past 5 years. Over the past couple of years, I've been fortunate enough to land gigs with a few rock groups and a 10-piece deep funk ensemble that plays here in NYC. I've been studying jazz improv for the past few years, and I am doing workshops and taking lessons right now. I guess I joined this forum because I've heard about a thousand different opinions about how to keep your pads stick-free, but I'm unsure about what method I'd like to use. I've been wiping off my tenor pads with a slip of paper saturated with ronsonol lighter fluid, but i'm a bit worried that the solvent may eat through the pads. I just picked up a selmer super balanced action alto and spent an arm and a leg overhauling it and installing new pads and original selmer metal resonators. so i definitely don't want to do anything that could potentially harm my investment. any ideas? Thanks!

Reply To Post [Report Abuse]

Report Abuse

Replies

1. by cjbass
    (14 posts)

18 years ago

Re: cleaning pads

Don't use any solvent on your pads. You are right by using a piece of paper, just insert it close the key and gently pull the paper out. I try to do this before I play so the pads are dry (this one is a matter of opinion, i don't like the paper tearing and little pieces getting caught on the pad). Some people say to use a dollar bill to do it, I personally don't want the oil and dirt of tons of fingerprints going on my leather pads. I try to use only white paper, so that its ink free. I play frequently and clean the pads about once a week, or when they get bad, but I dry out the horn after I play, everytime. Cheers Chris

Reply To Post

1. by knorter
      (205 posts)

18 years ago

Re: cleaning pads