Saxophone Forum

by sofian444
(7 posts)
18 years ago

Mouthpieces

I am 15 and have played tenor sax for two years now in my high school band. This year I started playing 1st tenor in our jazz band and 2nd chair in Wind Ensemble, and i really have to get a new mouthpiece. i use a yamaha 4c on a cannonball big bell tenor with vandoren's java reeds (2 1/2) and i have NO IDEA as to what type of mouthpiece i should buy. a local musician told me that the reason why my sound was becoming messed up was becuase my current mouthpiece was too closed, and that i should try an otto link 7*. i dont know anything about mouthpieces. honestly i dont know what the 7 means, but i think its the size. What do you look for when you buy a mouthpiece? Whats the difference between metal and resin? What kind of mouthpiece should i buy if i play jazz and classical? any help would be much appreciated.

Reply To Post [Report Abuse]

Report Abuse

Replies

1. by sofian444
    (7 posts)

18 years ago

Re: Mouthpieces

i forgot to say i was looking to spend $100 or less.

Reply To Post

2. by johnsonfromwisconsin
    (767 posts)

18 years ago