Saxophone Forum

by rajarajan
(2 posts)
18 years ago

New to SAX

HI iam looking foward to learn SAX on my own with some elassons .please suggest me some SAX model and link where i can find some basic lesson .since im travelling for my job could not learn from a teacher .i have the passion to learn it .

Reply To Post [Report Abuse]

Report Abuse

Replies

1. by saxangel
    (5 posts)

18 years ago

Re: New to SAX

I would recommend a Yamaha student model saxophone as a gr8 sax for a beginner & it has a decent sound & price tag...after a year or maybe a few & you have the basics under your fingers you can upgrade. Also it is a good goal to work towards getting that awesome sax when you are ready to play it for real! Good luck, I don't know any links as I am new to this sax-on-the-net thang. Use google search engine and type in Beginner sax lessons or somethin like that. You will be fine.

Reply To Post

2. by MarkLavelle
    (300 posts)

18 years ago

Since you're traveling, an Alto is probably what you want (hauling a Tenor around would be *extremely* tedious!). If you can afford a new Yamaha YAS-23 you'll probably be happy for at least a few years. Someone here also said good things about the Yamaha YAS-01Q, which is a little less expensive. The 'links and resources' tab here (top left) is a good start for info, and by all means use Google! For a handy reference and starting point, I recommend you get yourself a copy of 'The Art of Saxophone Playing' by Larry Teal, too...

Reply To Post

1. by Radjammin
      (255 posts)

18 years ago