Saxophone Forum

by Buddyroach
(9 posts)
18 years ago

Alto Sax Cases

My name is Bill and I have been playing for 6 or 7 years now and I am in the market for a new alto sax case as mine is finally starting to come apart. I have a reference 54 alto and I take it to school and back pretty often and I take it plenty of other places, so I need something strong and lightweight. If you have any suggestions, comments or advice I would appreciate your post.

Reply To Post [Report Abuse]

Report Abuse

Replies

1. by Buddyroach
    (9 posts)

18 years ago

Re: Alto Sax Cases

I have been reading this forum for about two years now and I know you guys have opinions about everything. Help me out. I've been looking through the cases and I will buy the pro-tec if all else fails but I want to know about the BAM softpack Selmer Flightech (kinda pricy) Walt Johnson (kinda pricy) Reunion Blues I mostly want to know about how well these cases protect your horn.

Reply To Post

1. by Sax Mom
      (964 posts)

18 years ago

Your case is "finally" starting to come apart? That sounds like you've been itching to buy a new case since you brought the horn home! My Alto I got used in the late 70's... It's a Conn 6m. The case had tape holding it together-the horn was from the 40's. I still have that case. I've added glue, and replaced the tape, but in the 70's, I didn't know you could get other cases. I don't get out with it much, play mostly at home, now, so I use the old case. It protects the horn. That's what's important.

Reply To Post

1. by Tsaxkid
        (29 posts)

18 years ago

A friend of mine has a protec pro pac extreme alto sax case. It is lightweight and even has backpack straps for when you're not carrying a backpack. I also had a protec gig bag which was good, but my old tenor is currently being stored in it.

Reply To Post

1. by Tubby_Man
          (48 posts)

18 years ago

Hiscox cases are lightweight and offer great protection!!

Reply To Post

2. by cyber75sax