Saxophone Forum

by Sunyveil
(11 posts)
18 years ago

I need general advice

So I'm a sophmore in high school, I've been playing saxophone for 3 years, and have practically decided that I want to spend my life on it, primarily in classical music. I would appreciate advice because I *don't* have a teacher. I had one, but he was a college student in the area and left to another college. In my 3 years of playing, I've done only around 50 exercises, needless to say, I have not gone through the discipline to practice exercises. On the other hand, I recently won an audition for 2nd chair in my county honor band (w00t), and musicians at my school generally look up to me. I have played pieces such as the Eccles and Creston sonata, as well as Tableaux de Provence and Improvisation et Caprice. I am currently working on Concertino de Camera, I've had it for about 4 days and I can play most of it pretty well (haha yea right). Does anybody have any suggestions for me, no matter how vague?

Reply To Post [Report Abuse]

Report Abuse

Replies

1. by Elke
    (10 posts)

18 years ago

Re: I need general advice

Hi. I'm one of the moderators for this forum and have taught all ages from elementary to college saxophone. You definitely want to find a teacher who plays classical saxophone. Besides just learning technique exercises (much of which you can do on your own), you need someone to guide you through proper interpretation and very fine subtleties in the literature. Much can be learned studying etudes. I think this is vital to really learning about phrasing and interpreting what's on the page. There are so many other sublteties that cannot go neglected... exactly how you should articulate various styles, basic articulation techniques, embouchure, tone, breathing... for all of these you really need a critical ear that knows exactly what to listen for and what to tell you to do differently.
    Elke Overton

Reply To Post

2. by Sunyveil
    (11 posts)

18 years ago

continued