Saxophone Forum

by daragan
(2 posts)
18 years ago

Buzz?

Hey. I having problem with my sound. When i play alone you i can hear the buzzing of the saliva (or something) in my instrument. Of course when i play w/ the band yu can't hear it. It's more noticeable in the middle notes. Low and high notes aren't that bad. Is this b/c of the way i play, the reed or is it suppose to be like that? I've been playing for about 2 1/2 years. I use 2.5 reeds. Should i get harder reeds? Any suggestions? THX

Reply To Post [Report Abuse]

Report Abuse

Replies

1. by moonpioneer
    (17 posts)

18 years ago

Re: Buzz?

the octave key controls a small pad on the neck.. this small pad can leak and cause a hollow airy sound and you lose some intensity and body. dont worry abou the reeds the only thing that could cause air is if its put on wrong or the lig. is in the wrong spot. you might have a leaky key some where with in the body as well. but ya trial and error

Reply To Post

2. by saxs_make_it_happen
    (42 posts)

18 years ago

May be something loose on the horn but I'm jus puttin my 2 cents in im no expert lol. Anytime you here saliva ya gotta suck air in from the mouthpiece to get it out and that gets rid of that annoying problem....for the moment... lol. good luck.

Reply To Post Yahoo!

1. by GzsKerqt
      (77 posts)

18 years ago

our band or rather our section claim the buzzing as saliva in the neck or the mouthpiece

Reply To Post

3. by Sax_Shark
    (134 posts)

18 years ago