Saxophone Forum

by GoldenGirlKat
(9 posts)
18 years ago

Selmer with epoxy finish

We were just looking at a Selmer Baritone saxophone on Ebay that looked very odd. When we questioned the seller about the finish that looked painted he wrote back that Selmer used an epoxy finish over brass and that it was factory done. Has anyone ever seen this? Is this a rarity? Or is he full of it?

Reply To Post [Report Abuse]

Report Abuse

Replies

1. by definition
    (963 posts)

18 years ago

Re: Selmer with epoxy finish

Thats normal, only mostly we call it a laquered finish. Can you post a link to the auction?

Reply To Post Yahoo! AIM

1. by definition
      (963 posts)

18 years ago

Found the horn in question, that finish was something tried years back but never took off. Its still a reliable Bundy Bari sax

Reply To Post Yahoo! AIM

2. by GoldenGirlKat
      (9 posts)

18 years ago

I hope this works, I have never tried to send a link from Ebay before. If the link doesn't work it is auction number 7389940945. We understand the lacquer finish on a saxophone but this looks like a flat finish paint, kind of ugly looking if you ask me and we have never seen one like it. On some of the auctions there are sax's that are lacquered in various bright shiny colors and look pretty sharp but this is downright ugly, LOL. cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=7389940945&rd=1&sspagename=STRK%3AMEWA%3AIT&rd=1

Reply To Post

1. by Dave Dix
        (421 posts)

18 years ago

That was a std finish and i think the buescher academy horns had it and it does look crap but you could buy it and strip it off Dave

Reply To Post

2. by Dave Dix
        (421 posts)

18 years ago

That was a std finish and i think the buescher academy horns had it and it does look crap but you could buy it and strip it off Dave

Reply To Post

1. by Sax Mom
          (964 posts)

18 years ago