Saxophone Forum

by Linda
(2 posts)
18 years ago

Air in embouchure?

Hi, I've been playing clarinet for 47 years and for the past 7 years have been trying to learn to play tenor. It took forever to realize that the reason I couldn't play low B flat was because of my embouchure and not the sax. Now my teacher is telling me that I should have a little air in the upper cheek area and in the upper lip. I can do it but my muscles get tired of controlling all of that air - I assume that aspect will improve. My real question is whether or not that is a common characteristic of a jazz embouchure. If I am left to my own "clarinet embouchure" I can barely keep the mouthpiece on the sax because I am so sharp. The air does make a big difference in the sharpness of my pitch. Any thoughts or ideas out there? I would appreciate any input because this is really getting old! Linda

Reply To Post [Report Abuse]

Report Abuse

Replies

1. by Radjammin
    (255 posts)

18 years ago

Re: Air in embouchure?