Saxophone Forum

by KingNecron
(76 posts)
18 years ago

Horn Recommendations

Hi everyone. I've been playing sax for about nine years, and it's high time I get a new horn. I figured I would consult the collective wisdom and see what y'all think. I'm posting this in the jazz section because jazz saxophone is my preference--sort of. Let me explain. I'm interested in developing this honky, deep, resonate 50s rhythm & blues sax sound, but I want to maintain a certain smoothness. I've been working a great deal toward developing this R&B sound with a lot funk and blues playing (and a little rock 'n' roll). But I don't want my sound to be totally "honkin'" all the time--I want some balance for when things get a little "jazzy." I realize this is terribly vague--none of these terms can really be clearly be defined. Imagine Sonny Rollins meets World Saxophone Quartet on _Breath of Life_ meets juke-joint sax player. I appreciate the feedback, and I'm hoping some of you will be able to get through my vague terms and make some helpful suggestions. (I am currently playing on a Ponzol Custom hard rubber jazz piece and a... sigh... Armstrong tenor sax. I also have what I think is an old Holton, but I don't really play her too much.)

Reply To Post [Report Abuse]

Report Abuse

Replies

1. by blackfrancis
    (396 posts)

18 years ago

Re: Horn Recommendations

I think that just about any horn would get you there. You've already doped out the sound you want and that's the hard part. That sound will come from YOU, probably regardless of the brand of honker you stow in your case. That being said, consider an old Super 20 or 10M with a good Link or Berg with a fairly open tip.

Reply To Post

1. by KingNecron
      (76 posts)

18 years ago

Thanks for the feedback, and I think you're right--it's going to be more of the player than the horn. I guess I'm looking to "maximize" this kind of sound, and your suggestions help (I knew I'd get "King Super 20" a lot).

Reply To Post AIM