Saxophone Forum

by Shawn1211
(1 post)
18 years ago

Bigger alto sound for jazz

hi, i'm 17 years old and i play in my school symphonic/jazz band. I'm a second chair alto but i still do some improv solos. I am currenly working on Cannonball Adderley's Transcription Books and some other jazz stuff. I've been playing alto for about 3 years and my setups are Yamaha 62IIS, Morgan 5M with Java 3's or Lavoz Mediums sometimes. In the past couple months, i ve been working on Bb overtones and focused on long tone exercies to get fuller and bigger sound. Hmm.. I haven't quite achieved the sound that i wanted. Should I go to thicker reeds? bigger opening? or more practice?

Reply To Post [Report Abuse]

Report Abuse

Replies

1. by blackfrancis
    (396 posts)

18 years ago

Re: Bigger alto sound for jazz

More practice. You're headed in the right direction- don't let GAS derail you.

Reply To Post

2. by simpleman
    (10 posts)

18 years ago

Are you playing along with Cannonball's recordings? Try matching his sound, articulations, intensity, etc. and you will develope a much bigger sound. Listen to as much jazz as you can. I didn't do enough of that in high school and now I regret it!

Reply To Post AIM

1. by Radjammin
      (255 posts)

18 years ago

It might be tad hard to "play along" with Cannonball.... I guess you could use transcription software to slow it down. On the other hand I would suggest downloading Band in a Box demo from www.pgmusic.com. You can enter in the changes (are they listed in the Cannonball transctioon book, I own that book but forgot) if it's standards you could just get them from a fake book(funny how most of them are legit now) and enter them in (this is really easy in BIAB) Set a easy to follow tempo and play along. Now that's practicing!!!

Reply To Post Yahoo! AIM

1. by simpleman
        (10 posts)

18 years ago