Saxophone Forum

by javanut
(1 post)
20 years ago

New Too

Hi there! I am new to Saxquest and new to playing the sax (or any instrument for that matter!) I am, I guess a "late comer" I'm 36 years old and started playing alto sax about 1 year ago. It's a slowww process, but I love it. Hope to get to know all of you soon! Pamela

Reply To Post [Report Abuse]

Report Abuse

Replies

1. by davebari
    (4 posts)

20 years ago

Re: New Too

Java(Pam outside of cyberspace), I'm impressed you started the sax at your advanced age! (I'm kidding... I'm 42, so relax) Anyway just a little advice. You gotta keep hitting the scales, but if they get too boring get a real easy book of standards or pop songs. It gives you something to shoot for and when you recognize the melody it's a new thrill. If you're already beyond that, get a book of blues scales and jazz etudes. Once you've found a few notes you like, you'd be surprised how good you can sound with a couple of guitar and piano playing friends. Good luck!

Reply To Post

1. by FISHERMAN
      (31 posts)

20 years ago

Welcome all, I fit the age bracket but started playing in 4 grade. Took about 3 year hiatus from playing and had to sell horns due to family medical problems . Got started back about a year ago. So far pick up a Tenor and Soprano dying for a Alto, coming soon. Do not know if you all have tried www.saxshed.com but it is a cool website. I tell you after stopping for 3 years my memory was still there but my embouchure and fingers had aged beyond belief. My better half told me welcome to middle age madness. Well good luck and Happy Tootin.

Reply To Post

1. by davebari
        (4 posts)

20 years ago

THANX, Fisherman! I've got saxshed bookmarked now. I'll be surfing for help.

Reply To Post

2. by othernews
      (6 posts)

20 years ago