Saxophone Forum

by plennt
(1 post)
18 years ago

Looking for an inexpensive soprano sax to mess around on.

Hello all- I am a first time poster. I have been playing strictly jazz alto sax for a long time, and I feel like I want to experiment with something new. I am a student going into high school (luckly I am in just jazz band!) and I have always loved the sound a soprano makes. It would help me because: - It gives me another sound and approach when I play the sax. - It is easier to take around to jam sessions - It would better my understanding of Bb instruments. The problem is, I really can't spend anymore than 400-450 dollars, and I don't want to get a cheap bad sounding horn that spends more time with my local repair man than it does me. Is their anyway I could find a decent sounding horn for the price or should I just wait and save up?

Reply To Post [Report Abuse]

Report Abuse

Replies

1. by barisax999
    (400 posts)

18 years ago

Re: Looking for an inexpensive soprano sax to mess around on.

i would defenitely wait... and more importantly get into a legit ensemble. you need that basis of playing to enhance your jazz playing. hold off on the soprano, you wont get a decent horn for that price

Reply To Post Yahoo! AIM

1. by Sax Mom
      (964 posts)

18 years ago

I got my used E.M.Winston on Ebay for $140. It was a risk, but panned out wonderfully. I love the horn, intonation (once I got used to the idiosyncracies of the soprano) is great, and I wouldn't let it go for less than what buying a new one would cost.

Reply To Post

2. by serieIIIsax
    (6 posts)

18 years ago