I have just purchased a Sax fo

Reply To Post [Report Abuse]

Report Abuse

Replies

1. by thelittlemarchingone
    (50 posts)

16 years ago

Re: Conn Shooting Star - Age, Serial Number, mfg site and quality questions

Hey there, Hate to break it to you, but this is one of the lower quality Conn horns. These weren't made in New Mexico, they were made in Nogales, Mexico. These horns tend to be really flimsy, they tend to break easily and the sound quality is not so great in comparison to the other Conn's. I wouldn't invest so much in cleaning it up, you'd be probably better off investing in a quality student Yamaha or Bundy II sax. But I'm no expert, you're best bet is to talk to your child's band director as I'm sure he could recommend some good horns, and hopefully some places to go. Good luck! :)

Reply To Post

1. by connsaxman_jim
      (2336 posts)

16 years ago