Saxophone Forum

by N2Jazz
(8 posts)
20 years ago

Are high dollar metal mp's worth it?

I've been playing Runyon plastics for the past several years, but recently heard a few musicians playing on Ponzols, Sugals, and Guardala's. Is spending 3-400 bucks on a mouthpiece really going to make that big of an impact on my playing? Anyone else out there who has moved from plastic or hard rubber to metal with drastic results???

Reply To Post [Report Abuse]

Report Abuse

Replies

1. by chiamac
    (586 posts)

20 years ago

Re: Are high dollar metal mp's worth it?

I like my florida link... and yes it would be worth $300-$400 (if you were a professional) you get bragging rights too... "dude I just bought a $450 piece" "HOLY CRAP DUDE HOW DOES IT SOUND?" "TOTALLY SWEET DUDE!" I rest my case.

Reply To Post Yahoo! AIM

2. by wvujazzman
    (48 posts)

20 years ago

I play a Vandoren V16 / Optimum ligature combo on my tenor. Together they're probably worth 250 or so. I absolutely love it, and haven't even thought about going back to hard rubber. There definitely is a tonal difference, and I'd try a few if possible before you buy anything. Metals have a different sound. It'll have an impact, but whether it's "better" or not will depend on what sound you're looking for.

Reply To Post

3. by peter090
    (155 posts)

20 years ago

I think they can be. I picked up a Ponzol on ebay about a year ago and decided I was going to switch to it permanently in about 5 minutes. A person would like to believe that tje high buck mouthpieces would be more consistent but few of us try enough of the same model to make that claim. If something were to happen to my current mouthpiece I'd buy a new one without thinking twice about it. If it plays like the one I have now it would be worth every penny.

Reply To Post

1. by N2Jazz
      (8 posts)

20 years ago